Images of a Big Island

Blood Moon

Hi Everybody,

Once again, apologies for my absence! An infection in my leg has forced me to spend a lot of time off my feet over the last couple of weeks, so photography has been on the back- burner for a while. :-(

I was sorting through some recent images shot before all this happened when I came across this one of the ‘Blood Moon’ that happened a couple of months ago. This particular blood moon happened at moonrise on the full moon, so the moon was very dark  for about 20- 30 mins after sunset. By the time I could actually see it, it was nearly dark and this image had a 30s exposure time at is0800, so there was movement in the moon over that period.

In the interests of experimentation, I decided to see if I could perhaps improve the image with a stationary moon.

After cloning out the original moon I dropped in another full moon that I had on file with a red & yellow gradient over the selected moon. After a couple of false starts I finally got the moon to look as close as possible to the original and ended up with this image.

Blood Moon

2 responses

  1. True North Mark

    Welcome back Tim and I trust the infection has passed! I very much like the image and I think the drop in worked quite well.

    I think perhaps if you reduced the opacity on it just a touch so that it was not so bright it might not look quite so dropped in.

    Great image all the same mate! :)

    May 31, 2014 at 4:38 pm

    • Cheers Mark, the infection is well on the mend. Yep, I
      think you are right!

      June 4, 2014 at 11:13 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 100 other followers