Images of a Big Island

Flash Car Eh!

As I mentioned recently I seem to have fallen down a hole that involves artificial lighting, more specifically, Off Camera Flash or Strobism if you like. In theory it sounds fairly easy to get your head around but in practice it is a mine field at times! You need to look at light in a whole different way than you are used to and start to see the nuances in light which most of us take for granted.

I have been studying the Masters of Light ( Joe McNally, David Hobby and a whole bunch of others) and then gone out to try and put some of that theory into practice, with some truly horrible results at times (Slow learner!) and the rare success that keeps me going on this Quixotic quest!

I recently stumbled across a Perth photographer by the name of Brodie Butler who does some outstanding work with cars and glamorous girls and shares some of that knowledge on his blog. Although most of the work he does involves Elinchrom Studio Flash, great car images can be done with Speedlights and imagination!

I had a crack at an auto shoot the other evening with my two 580 EXII Speedlights and I am pretty pleased with the result!

Elantra

Ok, it’s not a Lamborghini, but this represents a significant upward tic on my learning curve!

A lot of auto images are shot at dawn or dusk using the sky as a gigantic softbox and take advantage of the sky reflecting of the polished panels and windows of the car.

Queensland,Whitsundays,sunset,Hyundai Elantra,Strobist,Light was not quite as well balanced on this one, but I can see what needs to be done! Now all I need is a Supermodel and a Porsche!

 

2 responses

  1. I like your pics in this blog.. Its really a nice stuff..

    June 13, 2014 at 5:00 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 100 other followers