Images of a Big Island

Stitched Up!

King's Cascade-Edit
The Kimberley coast is such a huge area that it is sometimes difficult to convey the scene in front of you in one frame. I can well understand why a lot of photographers use panoramic cameras or these days stitching to capture what the see in front of them!
As this seems to be the thing at the moment I thought I may as well have a crack at it as well.
Bear in mind that the only stitching software i have at the moment is a Canon bundled software called Photostitch which is barely adequate for the job.
With trepidation i fed some files that I had shot specifically into the application just to try it out. My laptop groaned and mumbled at all the work i had thrown at it and finally threw out an image. I was surprised at how well it had done and with a little tidying up in Lightroom and Elements this is the result.
Waddya reckon Christian, good enough to go in your gallery?
Stop laughing and answer me!
Ok, so I have a way to go and PtGui looks like a good investment, but you gotta start somewhere.
5 image stitch, handheld from a boat.

2 responses

  1. it would be mate but I’ll be up there to get my own in 3 weeks, looking forward to it. Might not be any water left flowing though!

    August 6, 2009 at 11:34 pm

    • You will love it ! Looking forward to seeing what you come back with!
      Have fun up there.

      August 9, 2009 at 10:31 pm

Leave a Reply

