Images of a Big Island

God’s own country.

I guess we all have our own version of ‘God’s own country’, but for me it’s a region in Northern Tasmania where I grew up and members of my family still live.
The area surrounds a town called Sheffield. A farming region with rolling green paddocks, an imposing mountain that dominates the local landscape and places with names like ‘Paradise’, Nowhere Else’ and ‘Lower Crackpot’!
If you are heading up to Cradle Mountain, chances are you will probably pass through this area on your way to the high country.
Just reading some of the pioneering history is a fascinating journey.
Whenever I go down to see my father who unfortunately is in a nursing home these days, suffering from virulent old age, I spend hours driving around the countryside looking for images that reflect the beauty of this area. Even if I come back with nothing,it is time well spent!
Hillstead
I know the framing is a bit basic but it is a work in progress!

2 responses

  1. Beautiful spot, that would be Mt Roland if I’m not mistaken…..was raining all three times that I passed through but could still tell that it was a beautiful spot

    September 18, 2009 at 9:31 pm

  2. Yep, thats Tasmania at times! As you may have guessed I think its a pretty cool area. You have some nice images on your website.

    September 18, 2009 at 11:34 pm

Leave a Reply

