Images of a Big Island

Fiji Time!

In response to a query from Graham at Ecomuse Images and with inspiration from truenorthmark, I am going to step back in time to 1989 when I was lucky enough to spend 5 months in Fiji.
I turned up with my surfboard, my backpack and some Nikon camera gear and no idea of where,what ,how. (Get the picture?)
To cut a long story short I kind of went native after being adopted by a local family who had family scattered over the Fiji Islands.
Even though I didn’t get to surf some of the places I was trying to get to, I got to spend time with some of the most generous and warm-hearted people I have yet to meet. I also saw and learned some aspects of Fiji that most tourists never see and got a few images to boot.

These images have been scanned from 35mm Kodachrome Slides so image quality may not be perfect but for 20 yo images they are not bad!

Hope you enjoy the next few posts from the vaults!

6 responses

  1. ecomuseimages

    Mate…this, THIS is what photography is all about. Capturing a time and a place that you can go back to 20 years later. It’s got four fifths of stuff all to do with the latest lens or that uber $$$ Unobtanium coated DSLR body…its about being there in that moment and pressing the button.

    Two thumbs up to you mate…Wordpress Blogger of the moment in my humble opinion.

    December 15, 2009 at 3:19 pm

  2. Thanks mate, the interesting thing is that I could go back to these places now and things wouldn’t have really changed that much. They are probably still living the same way with maybe a few extra TV and DVD players!
    hopefully the recent cyclone over there hasn’t caused too much grief.

    December 16, 2009 at 11:49 pm

  3. truenorthmark

    Hey Tim, glad I have inspired someone! Nice pic mate!

    Hope the hip is coming along for you. I have a mate getting the same op done on Thursday!

    February 2, 2010 at 7:29 pm

  4. Thanks Mark, new hip is doing ok! Other one is giving me grief, get it done in 6 months or so.

    Tim

    February 3, 2010 at 11:28 pm

  5. truenorthmark

    Ouch…poor bugger…not one but 2 eh! Too much footy when you were young??

    February 3, 2010 at 11:38 pm

    • I guess it’s been a combination of all the things I used to do, sufing,sailing, working on trawlers etc. Its a bugger but no use getting upset about it is there?

      February 3, 2010 at 11:48 pm

Leave a Reply

