Images of a Big Island

Gloucester Is.

Cape Gloucester is about an hour drive from where I live and a place I visit often, nice beaches, uncrowded and one of the rare places you can watch the sun set over the water while still being on the mainland.
Took a drive up there recently hoping to get a couple of shots of the sun skimming across the contours of Gloucester Is. which sits just off the Cape.
Thin cloud was passing across the sun when I arrived which made the light fairly patchy and low contrast so it was just a matter of timing to get the sun on the hills and the beach in the foreground.

The cloud looked like it might make for a nice sunset and I am glad I decided to hang around!

One of the best sunsets I have seen for a while!

8 responses

  1. Sweet shots mate!

    Your best for a while I reckon!

    May 14, 2010 at 10:45 am

    • Thanks Mark, your shots from Vic. were sweet!

      May 15, 2010 at 1:36 pm

  2. Tony Middleton

    I really like the first image Tim, it’s just right ! I used to look out at Gloucester from my room every day when I lived up that way, and even ventured out to this actual spot a few times but never got any images I was happy with. – it’s a majestic looking island that doesn’t get any fanfare. thanks for sharing !

    cheers,

    May 14, 2010 at 6:08 pm

  3. Thanks Tony, you must have been living at Dingo Beach or Hydaway Bay I guess. I have also been here a few times but never got anything I was happy with either, very tide and sun angle dependant!

    May 15, 2010 at 1:20 pm

  4. Mate love the top one! Great the way the water leads you into the image.

    Cheers

    May 18, 2010 at 2:07 pm

  5. Thanks David!

    May 19, 2010 at 4:34 pm

  6. wayte27

    Mate hows that sunset thank god you stayed for the light show

    June 12, 2010 at 5:33 pm

  7. One of the better ones I have seen in a while! Thanks Adrian.

    June 15, 2010 at 1:15 pm

Leave a Reply

