Images of a Big Island

Brand New Day

This image is a bit of a favourite of mine. I was anchored off Whitehaven Beach on one of the charter yachts I was skipper of and decided to go to the beach before sunrise to see if I could snag some images that weren’t the usual staple of the tourism industry.
Arriving on the beach the sandflies were in full force and I realised I had left the repellant on board! Bugger.
But I was the only person on this beautiful three mile stretch of world famous beach and the tide had washed away all traces of the hoards of people that frequent the beach during the day.
Seeing this beach without footprints is rare, so how do I convey this emptiness?
I wandered down the beach a way, taking care to keep away from the area that had been washed clean by the tide, looking for a point of interest like a piece of driftwood.
The only mark on the beach was this crab hole which illustrated what I was trying to convey perfectly!
I waited with the tripod, hoping the crab may poke his head out, which would have been the icing on the cake, but he was keeping his head down.
Never the less, I was quite happy with what was in front of me and I shot a few different images with the 10mm wide-angle of which this image is the best.

Not long after this people started to arrive on the beach from their boats, footprints all over the place!

3 responses

  1. Very nice mate. Good detail in the sand. Tough way to start the day

    June 22, 2010 at 4:02 pm

  2. True North Mark

    Nicely done Tim!

    Beautiful clean image!

    June 22, 2010 at 6:30 pm

  3. Thanks Andrew, yep, sandflies love me! Nice to be on this beach by myself though.

    Another simple one Mark, bit like me!

    June 24, 2010 at 3:22 pm

Leave a Reply

