Images of a Big Island

The Web

Sitting out on the patio this morning having my wake-up coffee when I noticed a small spider had built a web close by. Upon closer inspection I was shaking my head in admiration of what this tiny animal engineer had achieved!
The web was about 2m from the ground and was in between a tree and a post with a distance of at least 2m between the anchor points. How it moved between these anchor points at the same time as spinning a gossamer thread with a tensile strength comparable to steel is a marvel of engineering!
All in the hope of trapping an unwary flying insect for dinner.

To get this image was a challenge in itself, constantly changing light and a breeze moving the web in and out of focus. Added to that was the fact that shooting angle and distance were were restricted.
Finishing my coffee and having a think about it, I came up with the solution of spraying the web with a fine water mist to help it stand out from the background and holding an off-camera flash as high as i could reach and slightly behind from the RH side to try and simulate sunlight.
After a few attempts to get the flash exposure right and waiting for a lull in the breeze, I managed to get one that was mostly in focus. The icing on the cake would have been to have a Golden Orb or John’s Cross spider, so I’ll have to work on my spider wrangling skills!
In the meantime, I hope I have done this little engineering feat justice. And we think we are the smartest species in the universe!?

8 responses

  1. Nice job! I’m a bit of a spider web fanatic myself …. I managed to get a bunch of great web shots this summer when we had a particularly dewy morning. If you have a minute, pop by my blog and do a search … I’ve posted several pictures of spider webs on my blog!

    October 17, 2010 at 1:07 am

  2. True North Mark

    Well done there Tim!

    I might just use that technique in the Kimberley next year at one of our picnic sites where I know there are a keep of cool spider webs!

    October 18, 2010 at 12:15 am

  3. You go for it mate! At least you will probably have some decent arachnids to shoot compared to this camera shy little specimen!

    Cheers,

    October 18, 2010 at 12:42 am

  4. Hey Tim,

    Great shot mate. Thanks for describing the way you did it as well.

    Jamie

    October 18, 2010 at 10:22 am

  5. Great image Tim and its always good to hear how it was done for sure.

    Cheers mate

    October 18, 2010 at 10:36 am

Leave a Reply

