Images of a Big Island

Cradle Mt.

Andrew Brown & Jamie Patterson have been posting some great images of the Tasmanian Icon that is Cradle Mt, so I thought I would add my paltry efforts!
These have been lurking in my archive for ages and frankly they’re rather boring images compared to others that are out there.


These two images above were shot in my early days of digital photography, so please excuse the quality. A rare beautiful day up in these parts!


These last two illustrate the extremes of weather up in the Alpine regions. It can go from a beautiful warm sunny day to freezing cold and nasty in very short time! Many people have been caught out over the years, some with fatal consequences.
My father who lived at Cradle Mt for many years and knew the area intimately treated the area with great respect even if he was going for a short daywalk.
Many times i have driven up to the lake hoping for that moody, broken cloud pierced by the setting sun type of weather. So far it has eluded me but I will get lucky one day!

13 responses

  1. True North Mark

    Love the top one Tim!

    October 19, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    • Thanks Mark, some cloud in the sky would have been nice though!

      October 20, 2010 at 2:46 pm

  2. Boring my arse, these are very good images. Quite like the b&w for something a bit different.

    October 20, 2010 at 7:32 am

    • Very subtly put Andrew! LOL. I quite like that one as well.

      Cheers,

      October 20, 2010 at 2:47 pm

  3. wayte27

    Give ya self some credit mate. Love the top image the Cabin adds certain interest. Man V nature very cool shot indeed. Blue sky, not often you get that but yes ah int of a cloud may have been nice Cheers Adrian

    October 20, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    • Well,my use of the word “boring” seems to have got the troops in a lather! LOL
      By “boring”, I mean that while I like these images,I have shot the same images as just about every body else. Admittedly, I usually don’t have the luxury of time but it would be nice to come up with something with a bit more oomph to it. I’ll get them one day!

      cheers for your input fellas!

      October 20, 2010 at 9:05 pm

  4. Tim I think they are great as well. Love the B&W with the rock in the foreground.

    Also one day I will beat Markie to firt comment!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    October 21, 2010 at 7:08 pm

    • Even better if I can spell first. hahah

      October 21, 2010 at 7:09 pm

    • Mark is certainly quick off the mark. Yes, I like that B&W one as well.

      Cheers, David

      October 21, 2010 at 10:47 pm

  5. Hey Tim,

    Thanks for the inspiration mate. Cradle Mountain certainly has a mind of its own. That’s for sure. I must admit I like the black and white one as well.

    Jamie

    October 24, 2010 at 8:53 pm

    • No worries Jamie,glad you like them!

      October 25, 2010 at 12:01 am

  6. Tony Middleton

    Cool images Tim – I’ve missed scoring any nice light there too… One day hey !
    cheers 🙂

    October 25, 2010 at 9:27 pm

Leave a Reply

