Images of a Big Island

At the End of the Day

This is an image I shot the day before my recent visit to hospital. It looked like a thunderstorm might be building so I drove down to Wilson Beach which is about half an hour away, in the hope of an interesting sky.
Dead low tide which meant extensive sand & mud flats. An interesting cloud formation in the western sky looked like it might be worth shooting but there was no interesting foreground apart from the reflections in the still water.
I hung around for about an hour shooting some panoramics whenever the cloud texture looked vaguely interesting but the light didn’t really fire up as I had hoped. Still it was nice just watching the cloud change shape for a while.
Just as I was thinking about heading off some fishermen came around the corner to the boat ramp and suddenly I had a foreground just as the light got interesting!

Shot about 4 quick frames as they were waiting for the trailer and it turned out that the fishing was a bust for them.
I walked away with a couple of nice images!

8 responses

  1. Great shot. I have had similar experiences – sometimes my original idea for a shot doesn’t work out, but if I’m patient and keep my eyes open a great shot can present itself.

    December 21, 2010 at 12:25 am

  2. Yep, patience is sometimes the key! Thanks.

    December 21, 2010 at 11:33 am

  3. True North Mark

    A nice end to the day mate!

    December 22, 2010 at 9:35 am

  4. I like it Tim, and Merry Christmas mate, keep up the good work!

    December 25, 2010 at 9:50 am

    • Thanks David, Merry Xmas to you too!

      December 26, 2010 at 10:31 pm

  5. Tony Middleton

    hey Tim,
    I like this one over the boatless one in the other post. That water is so calm it is almost ridiculous !
    All the best with your recovery and going forward and beyond mate đŸ™‚

    December 28, 2010 at 11:47 am

  6. Thanks Tony, for most of the time I was there the reflections were the only decent foreground I had! I don’t mind either of them actually.

    December 29, 2010 at 12:02 am

Leave a Reply

