Images of a Big Island

Monsoon Skies

We have certainly had some rain over here in Queensland this year! At the moment large parts of Southern and Western Queensland are under water with flood records broken left,right & centre.
Here in the Whitsundays it feels like the sun has deserted us although as I speak the sun is is making a rare but brief appearance. The ground is saturated and soggy but the good news is that the local dam is flowing over the spillway for only the second time in it’s 30yr history.
For the last couple of months I have driven countless miles around the surrounding cane fields trying to capture some of the awesome looking skies that come with this sort of weather in juxtaposition with the landscape that consists of miles of flat canefields and a couple of low mountain ranges.
The best time to do this is at the end of the cane harvest when most of the cane is still short,for most of the year you can’t see anything because of the height of the cane obscuring the skyline.
Up until yesterday I had not shot anything that I was completely happy with, just couldn’t get all the variables to line up and I was beginning to despair of ever getting an image that portrayed the wide open landscape, the ranges and the skies that happen with the tropical wet season.
I think the couple of images below may be getting close though! (Click to view large)

What do you think?

10 responses

  1. True North Mark

    Yep mate they work….I thin we must’ve sent you the skies we had over hear last week eh!

    December 29, 2010 at 2:54 pm

  2. No mate, we have had this weather for 2 months! We are all sick of it.

    December 29, 2010 at 2:56 pm

  3. Hi Tim, I Like the first one the best, I think the simple foreground works best to highlight the clouds. Nice work.

    December 29, 2010 at 5:51 pm

    • G’day Ben, Yes I think I like that one the best as well! Appreciate your comment.

      December 30, 2010 at 12:01 am

  4. Hi Tim, I too like the top one, one’s eye is drawn to the hills. Nice.

    And Happy New Year!

    January 1, 2011 at 1:02 pm

    • The more I liik at the top one the more I like it, the hills tie it all together. HNY to you as well David!

      January 1, 2011 at 10:34 pm

  5. Sweet images Tim, I’m a big fan of the top one as well.

    January 2, 2011 at 8:03 am

  6. Tony Middleton

    Hey Tim,
    I really like the pano mate, shooting across the cane/crop lines here works really well and the colour mix sums it up well with the shower falling on parts of the range in the background as well.
    all the best,
    tone 🙂

    January 7, 2011 at 8:32 am

    • Thanks Tony,personally the sky texture is what I like the best!

      January 7, 2011 at 8:02 pm

      • Tony Middleton

        Yeah the texture in the sky is awesome!
        all the best,
        T

        January 9, 2011 at 11:36 am

Leave a Reply

