Images of a Big Island

Gulp!!

I have posted this image before but at the moment it holds particular significance to me!

Most of you are probably aware that I had a melanoma removed from my heel recently. A biopsy of the lymph glands in my groin, taken at the same time showed traces of melanoma which is not a particularly good sign!
Surgeons have decided that they need to remove those lymph glands which are a fairly important part of your immune system. That brings up its own set of problems such as lymphedema and thay can’t guarantee that the melanoma won’t turn up later on.
After some denial and a bit of reading I have decided to investigate more natural therapies to deal with the problem in the hope that i can avoid the surgeons knife.
While there are undoubtedly natural ways to deal with this, sorting out the wheat from the chaff is going to take some doing and I need to find an answer or make a decision quickly!! Potentialy turning your back on accepted practice is not for the faint-hearted and my knowledge can be written on the back of a postage stamp.
So, I am going to enlist the aid of fellow bloggers who may have some experience or knowledge or even an opinion on this.
What do you say? my photographic future could depend on it!

BTW, to those who want to sell me snake oil my spam radar will be well tuned!

20 responses

  1. True North Mark

    My wife is a Naturopath Tim and is pretty well up to speed with such things.

    Give her a call on 0419 86 3031

    Cheers,

    Mark

    February 10, 2011 at 3:45 pm

  2. True North Mark

    Lee is her name sorry!

    February 10, 2011 at 3:45 pm

  3. You are a champion Mark! would she mind if I called tonight for a chat?

    February 10, 2011 at 3:48 pm

  4. True North Mark

    Call her anytime Tim…even now if you like…I’ll brief her!

    February 10, 2011 at 3:49 pm

  5. Give her a call later tonight!

    February 10, 2011 at 3:56 pm

  6. Wendy

    Hi Tim,

    If you need to talk, call me anytime. : )

    Wendy

    February 10, 2011 at 9:08 pm

  7. Tony Middleton

    hi Tim, I can’t offer any professional advice, but I can offer my wishes and support. Like yourself I think the more immediate the action (which over you choose) the better when it comes to this stuff.
    From my understanding we have many lymph glands in our bodies, Did they take any other biopsies from others or is it just the ones in the groin that showed traces ?
    Tough decisions no doubt mate and I hope Mark’s wife can offer some definitive advice one way or another.
    Also don’t settle for one opinion (i know this is extra hard living regionally) but get as many as you can on as many different possible treatments as you can until you find one that you feel comfortable with as been the most effective treatment for you.

    thinking of and for you…
    best wishes,
    tone.

    February 11, 2011 at 6:23 pm

    • Thankyou Tony! Yes it seems everybody has a cure of some sort for cancer, Hard to find anything concrete or anyone who is in the same boat. Will keep looking around though!

      February 12, 2011 at 12:33 pm

      • Tony Middleton

        These days there seems to be a million different cancers with just as many possible treatments. Has been lots of different cancers in my family and friends but no melanomas… so i’m sorry i can’t offer any feedback from experiences with it other than making sure you search out as many treatments that you can and take on the one you feel most comfortable with. And don’t feel you have to limit yourself to Airlie/NQ or even Qld. Lots of friends and resources where ever you need or want to go mate 🙂

        February 12, 2011 at 1:01 pm

  8. You are not wrong there Tony! if I put it into perspective, I can count 4 times in my life where I have cheated death by quick reflex and a healthy dose of pure dumb luck. 2 of those times were with a camera in my hand! So living dangerously is not outside my experience.
    Even though this is a bit different maybe I need to put myself in that type of zone and see what happens.

    February 12, 2011 at 4:51 pm

  9. Hi Tim,

    I had a nodular melonoma removed seven years ago. It was a secondary cancer and they spent 5yrs searching for the primary cancer. I had 3mth scans for that time. Never found it in the end, apparently if the body acts ‘really’ quickly it can kill a melonoma about 10% of the time.

    After 5yrs of continual worry and stress I’m now clear. I got lucky.

    I’m not going to say anything more other than don’t give in and if you need someone to listen to you,who has been though it I’m here.

    Jamie

    February 18, 2011 at 9:47 am

    • Tony Middleton

      Great story Jamie ! Tim will have a similar one to tell in years to come 🙂

      February 18, 2011 at 10:15 am

    • Thanks Jamie, after reading lots of stuff both alternative and orthodox, i have come to the conclusion that no-one has all the answers! A positive mindset and healthy lifestyle certainly won’t hurt at the very least!

      February 19, 2011 at 2:10 pm

  10. Hey Tony,

    Thanks mate. It a feel headf$%k knowing that something is attacking you from the inside but once you get your head around it and start pushing back it gets a lot easier.

    When I got really down I used to think of the young kids who were suffering and who never complained once and who were terminal. It kind of put things into perspective.

    Jamie

    February 18, 2011 at 10:20 am

    • Could not have said that better myself!

      February 19, 2011 at 2:12 pm

  11. sorry to hear the news Tim. My wife believes in RAW food diets. They might not help but anything is worth researching. We are so used to cooked to death meat and veggies I am sure this has contributed to some of our health problems today.
    Thinking of you mate, this is a life changer, and I wish you all the best.

    February 22, 2011 at 6:41 pm

  12. Thanks Christian, I have researched this until my head spins! I have changed my diet substantially to a more fruit and veg diet which certainly won’t hurt. Will miss my roast lamb though!

    February 23, 2011 at 9:38 am

  13. All the best Tim, plenty of natural remedies out there but I think that a positive state of mind in approaching the thing can help. May not be a cure but staying positive and continuing to do the things that you love has got to help…..at least I hope it does.

    March 22, 2011 at 7:46 am

    • Thanks Andrew, You are absolutely right, live healthy,positive attitude and stay occupied will all help!

      March 22, 2011 at 10:07 pm

Leave a Reply

