Images of a Big Island

It ain’t over ’til the Fat Lady Sings!

I went up to Dingo Beach the other afternoon to get a range of images so I could test out a Plug-in for Lightroom by the name of L/R Enfuse. The plug-in is an HDR plug-in put together by Timothy Armes and is available from The Photographers Toolbox. I have never been a big fan of HDR as a lot of images look a little weird to me but that is just a personal taste.
So far the results look pretty good and I will be playing with it for a while to get the best out of it. Here is one of the images I came back with.

This shot nearly didn’t happen! I had been taking a range of images with a fairly un-inspiring sky. I wasn’t particularly worried as It was more about the process rather than the image this time. The sun had set and I waited for a while just in case. Judging that nothing was going to happen, I was in the process of packing up my gear when I looked up and noticed that a bit of colour was appearing in the clouds. Setting up my gear again I managed to get a couple of very nice images over the next 10 minutes.and it all faded as quickly as it had appeared!
The title of this post says it all!

8 responses

  1. True North Mark

    The old ‘after glow’ trick eh Tim!

    Been caught with that one many times myself! 🙂

    Nice work.

    March 2, 2011 at 5:43 pm

    • Do I stay, do I go? The eternal question! Thanks mate.

      March 2, 2011 at 11:49 pm

  2. Tony Middleton

    I think that has happened to all of us from time to time.

    Nice result Tim, perhaps a tiny bit too light in the shadows for my liking, but I think I’m probably in the same court as you in regards to this sort of work in general.

    cheers,

    March 2, 2011 at 8:15 pm

    • I actually lightened up the shadow side of the mangroves. I don’t mind the result compared to a lot of HDR. Still a bit of fine tuning to go!

      Cheers Tony

      March 3, 2011 at 12:04 am

  3. really stunning photograph! Looks like it was worth the wait!

    March 2, 2011 at 9:31 pm

  4. wayte27

    Hey Tim sweet shot mate but yes Im in that boat, never leave util you know its over and as Jamie Patterson always says”Turn around”
    Hows everything else going mate, hope your well
    Cheers Adrian

    March 3, 2011 at 11:44 am

  5. Hi Adrian, Yes I am well, still trying to figure out how I am going to deal with this melanoma thing. Cheers for dropping by!

    March 4, 2011 at 12:46 am

Leave a Reply

