Images of a Big Island

‘Cheshunt’ Buildings

Is it possible to have “photographers block”? If so, I think I have a case of it right now, just can’t seem to get the results I am looking for at the moment.
Anyway, for this post I will stay in Tasmania. I have previously posted about one of these buildings before but at the time the light was pretty flat so wider views of the old building were a little bit dull with a blown out sky.
On my last visit to Tasmania I wanted to get some more shots of this dilapidated building, so I did an early morning drive to try and get the low sunlight that I thought would be a little more interesting. Glad I did, as some other outbuildings on the same property were lit very nicely by the early morning light as well. Not sure what these outbuildings were used for, maybe workers quarters,stables, etc, but I am glad I stumbled upon them while rambling down a country road just following my nose!
These will one day be gone, but for now they add some historic context to a world which is becoming more homogenised.



6 responses

  1. Beautiful images, how come old buildings are the most interesting?

    March 26, 2011 at 5:17 pm

  2. Thanks Tracey! I guess they are interesting because their history always seems to fire our imagination.

    March 26, 2011 at 10:06 pm

  3. Really like the ‘abandoned’ shot…the orange in the roof next to the blue skies is a really nice combination.

    March 30, 2011 at 11:35 pm

    • Thanks Sandy, I still haven’t seen this building in the best light yet, Just have to keep going back I guess!

      Cheers,

      April 1, 2011 at 12:00 am

  4. Great rustic images Tim.
    I’ve just been looking at your Kimberley images. Some great shots mate! The Kimberley is such a magnificent place eh?
    Cheers
    Dave

    March 31, 2011 at 6:51 pm

    • Yes Dave ,the Kimberley is an awesome place for sure. Well worth protecting at all costs!

      Cheers,

      March 31, 2011 at 11:57 pm

Leave a Reply

