Images of a Big Island

Country Road Sunset

Hope everybody had a great Easter Break. Judging by the lack of activity here, you all found better things to do than turn your computer on. As for me, I was back at sea for the first time in nearly 2 years!
Yesterday. I had to travel to Townsville for a doctor’s appointment at which they gave me some better news than I was expecting. The down side was they kept me waiting for nearly 2hrs and I nearly missed the great light in this image.
I had scoped out this area on a quick drive through on the way up, but had little idea of the area and what the light angles were going to be around sunset. Hightailing it along the Flinders Highway I could see some really nice light on the peaks in Bowling Green Bay Nat. Park. Sun was sinking fast and there were some large black clouds hovering along the western horizon.
Taking a chance, I ducked down a side road hoping I could find somewhere to take advantage of these conditions when this bent -up windmill appeared. I managed to fire of a 5 image stitch and a couple of single frames before the light disappeared. Whew!
Sometimes you just gotta take what you get and hope it works!

I think I just got away with it this time.
Looked like it would be a good sunset so I hung around for a while and then figured that it was a dud and started on the 3hr drive home. Looked into the rearvision mirror to see the lowering clouds lit from below beautifully, but by then I was in the wrong place heading in the wrong direction. Oh well, next time!

7 responses

  1. True North Mark

    Not bad mate..I would like tohear more about the good news as well mate!

    May 2, 2011 at 4:27 pm

  2. Cheers Mark, I can see bits which could be better, like the bright clouds. Will call back through here next time I am up that way and see if I get better conditions.
    The good news is that they don’t think they will have to operate again! 🙂

    May 2, 2011 at 10:51 pm

  3. Tony Middleton

    That’s some damn good news alright ! Top rural scene there Tim, I can’t decide about the photographer shadow though.

    May 3, 2011 at 7:47 pm

    • This was all done in LR, thought about removing the shadow, but it doesn’t bother me as much as the bright cloud!

      May 3, 2011 at 10:58 pm

  4. Ripper news mate, glad to hear it. Back in action….with Tone though on the shadow. Leaning towards cloning out for what it is worth.

    May 3, 2011 at 8:06 pm

    • Thanks Andrew, might have a go at removing the shadow, just for fun!

      May 3, 2011 at 10:59 pm

  5. There you go fellas, i have deleted myself! 🙂

    May 4, 2011 at 12:06 am

Leave a Reply

