Images of a Big Island

Mountain Storm

Well, I hope you have all been having better luck photographically than I have lately! It seems that on the rare occasions that I get out & about lately, conditions conspire against me!

Anyway, this is another one from my last trip to Tasmania. Generally I don’t bother shooting Mt Roland during the middle part of the day, the flat frontal lighting just doesn’t do it justice. On this particular day I had a couple of hours to kill so I tossed a coin to decide whether to sit in a café or see if I could scout out any new angles that I hadn’t noticed before. Scouting won.  Driving down one of the backroads in the area I saw that it looked like a storm was brewing over the highlands which was looking kind of interesting.

The farming implement was about the only interesting foreground that I could find so I set up and waited to see what might happen.

The storm clouds added some interest and drama to the mountain that would not normally be there and they dissipated shortly after this image was taken.  If I had been sitting in a café as I was thinking of doing, I would have missed it!

Hope you all have a safe & Happy Xmas and New Year!

6 responses

  1. Yep that works mate…have a great Xmas yourself as well!

    December 19, 2011 at 2:38 pm

    • Cheers Mark, all the best to you and your family!

      December 20, 2011 at 10:02 am

  2. Hey Tim. Its a great shot and I do like it. The only comment I have is that it doesn’t seem to convey the true size of Mt Roland. Its bloody huge! I know its probably a really dumb question but is it climbed frequently?

    Jamie

    December 20, 2011 at 9:51 am

  3. I actually like it because it does give a sense of scale to the mountain. It’s a hard one to shoot sometimes and I suspect that to get the best size perspective on this mountain, I need to be in the middle of one of the many farms!
    There is a track up the back of the mountain so i guess it gets climbed a lot!

    All the best for Xmas and new Year!

    December 20, 2011 at 10:07 am

  4. Hi Tim,

    I meant that the photo makes the mountain seem smaller than it is. Not the other way around. 🙂 I love the fact that you keep capturing Mt Roland, I think its more impressive than Cradle Mountain.

    December 20, 2011 at 10:23 am

    • It’s a hard one sometimes to shoot this mountain and try and convey the way it appears to loom over the landscape. I have often thought of trying a stitch with a telephoto to really compress the perspective, just got to find the right viewpoint to do it from!

      Cheers!

      December 21, 2011 at 12:34 pm

Leave a Reply

