Images of a Big Island

Mandy

Going through some old images recently I came across what is possibly my first ever “proper” portrait and still one of my favourites!

Quite a few years ago,back in the days of film, a friend of mine called around unexpectedly. Mandy,at that time was a part time model who was a natural beauty and as we sat chatting, I noticed the light coming through the window was falling on her in a very flattering way!

On the spur of the moment I asked if I could take a couple of photos of her to which she surprisingly agreed. I think all she did was brush her hair and touch up her lipstick while I arranged a white bedspread as a backdrop and we made a couple of images. The only light was window light coming from directly behind me if I remember correctly.

I have lost the negative unfortunately but I did keep a laminated print for my own portfolio and Mandy also liked it enough to keep one for her portfolio.

This is a scan of that laminated print which has some further digital processing applied and I think I like it even more! Of course, it helps if you have a great  subject in the first place. And it shows that sometimes impromptu portraits can sometimes have great results!

Leave a Reply

