Images of a Big Island

Here Comes The Sun!

Went for a wander through the rainforest yesterday, also got a reminder about why it is called rainforest….. about as far away from the car as it was possible to be!

Love going on that particular walk because it is never the same, there is always something new to see. It also challenges me photographically. There are some magnificent Strangler Figs that I want to photograph, I walk around them,marvelling at their forms and complex shapes. But I walk on without taking a picture because any photo I take won’t capture their essence. One day, the pieces will fall into place and I will get an image that distills them within a rectangular frame.

One thing that always strikes me about rainforest is that it is a battleground and one of the biggest prizes is sunlight. Every plant needs sunlight for survival and growth.This image is my interpretation of the importance on sunlight to the rainforest, hope you like it!

5 responses

  1. Looks like a nice walk there mate!

    July 9, 2012 at 10:18 pm

    • It’s always a very nice walk mate! 🙂

      July 9, 2012 at 10:28 pm

  2. Thanks to all those people who liked this……… so quickly!

    July 9, 2012 at 10:43 pm

  3. Hi Tim. I love that middle photo. I’d love to visit the rainforests one day. Looks like there is just so much to capture.

    July 10, 2012 at 9:39 am

    • Thanks Jamie,yes there certainly is, sometimes too much!

      July 10, 2012 at 10:52 am

Leave a Reply

