Images of a Big Island

Cedar Creek

Over here in Queensland it is as dry as a chip! No decent rain for a few months and it looks like being a hot,dry summer. I am hoping for some wet season rain just to green things up and give the streams & waterfalls a much needed flush out! Sitting on the cusp between La Niná and El Ninó conditions means the chance of good flooding rains is not great.

This is an image I have had on file for quite a long time. I have always passed it mover for more “conventional’ looking stream images. although I have always liked the lighting in the image. Going through my archive the other day for some new calendar images, I looked at this and thought “Why not!”

After very little post processing,here is the result.

Cedar Ck

At the moment this spot has no water flowing down it, bring on the rain I say!

 

9 responses

  1. Great shot, there’s plenty of rain here in London!

    December 4, 2012 at 10:44 pm

    • Thanks Geoff! It always rains in London doesn’t it? Hope to be over that way next year!

      December 4, 2012 at 10:46 pm

      • Normally I’d say yes but I’m looking out my window at the moment and the sun is shining!

        December 4, 2012 at 10:58 pm

  2. Raining here in Tassie too… but has been dry. Really cold today… winter woolies again… after hot swimming days a few days ago. I love your photo… the unusual angle and lighting does it for me. Bonus I love the sensation of movement …. which you could not capture there now.

    December 4, 2012 at 11:22 pm

    • Thanks Evelyn, I will be down in Tassie soon for a couple of weeks touring. i actually hope it is reasonably cool!

      December 6, 2012 at 12:42 am

  3. Wow Tim. Really nice shot mate. Composition, lighting and subject matter is bang on. Probably one of my favourites of yours.

    December 5, 2012 at 10:02 am

    • Thanks Jamie! For some reason, I kept finding faults with this image. I looked at it again recently and those faults really didn’t exist! Go figure!
      Cheers,

      December 6, 2012 at 12:38 am

  4. I agree absolutely with Jamie. This is a great shot with all the elements spot on.

    December 6, 2012 at 3:47 am

  5. Cheers Noeline, took me a while to see the images’ good points!

    December 6, 2012 at 9:37 pm

Leave a Reply

