Images of a Big Island

Portable Photo Storage

A question for all you photo-geeks out there! I am heading over to europe for a month soon, I don’t feel like lugging around a laptop and would ideally like to get myself a portable media storage device such as an Epson P-3000 or Canon M80. problem is they are hard to find, so I am thinking along the lines of a Tablet or iPad Mini.

Is it possible to connect a Canon 5D II or a card reader to one of these things and will they read Canon CR2 RAW files?

Any info  would be much appreciated!

8 responses

  1. Take the lappy and an external hardrive mate! I always do and then you can edit on the run.

    February 5, 2013 at 9:11 pm

    • I would much rather travel light this time and worry about edits when I get home. trying to find a reasonable alternative! Cheers

      February 5, 2013 at 9:14 pm

  2. I’m afraid I can’t answer the question myself but try this site …
    http://www.horizonsunlimited.com/hubb/photo-forum/
    You may already find your answer there, if not you should get a decent response in a reasonable time.
    Whereabouts in Europe are you going?

    February 6, 2013 at 7:27 pm

  3. Thanks Noeline, will check it out. Starting in Belgium and hopefully a wander through Scotland and perhaps the Orkney’s!

    February 6, 2013 at 11:46 pm

    • I wondered if I might have some suggestions for your trip but having not spent much time in and around Scotland I can’t help – a bit daft considering I live in the UK! 🙂
      Have a great trip and let us know what it’s like!

      February 8, 2013 at 3:22 am

      • Will do, cheers Noeline!

        February 8, 2013 at 11:31 pm

  4. I just bout a card reader to plug in to my ipad for this purpose but only have 16g? iipad so not much storage. Have not tried downloading RAW to it due to small space.

    February 7, 2013 at 7:40 am

    • I have come to the same conclusion Evelyn, might be stuck with the laptop after all! Cheers,

      February 8, 2013 at 11:33 pm

Leave a Reply

