Images of a Big Island

Cradle View

First of all, it appears this blog has picked up a small following, which kind of surprises me as I don’t consider my images to be anything really  special. There are far better images out there than mine! But to those people who follow my blog and those who stumble across it and leave a ‘Like’ thanks very much! I will endeavour to keep it as interesting as I possibly can. Please feel free to leave a comment about the images I post,good, bad or whatever!

It occurred to me that most images of Cradle Mt. are shot with wide-angle lenses which show a lot of foreground which is hopefully interesting but also push the mountain into the background. Luckily, with that distinctive shape, it will still get the attention it deserves.  As I was driving up to Lake Dove one day I noticed that at one spot the mountain seems to  loom over the surrounding buttongrass plains with little else to  compete with it. On the way back I decided to investigate that view a little more closely and this is the result.

Cradle View

It is a slightly different perspective of the mountain helped by the use of a 105mm focal length.

‘Confession’- I have replaced a rather dull, featureless blue sky with something a little more interesting!  Canon 5DII, 105mm, 1/5s @f16, iso 100, polariser

8 responses

  1. This spot intrigues me too. I have several photos from around there and for my last “Paint Cradle in watercolour” class I was going to use such a view but they opted for a more conventional “with Dove Lake” one. It seems incredible that between where the photo is taken from and the mountain is a large lake hidden behind the rocky outcrops and areas of high altitude vegetation to the fore. I am one of your followers….. Love your pics.

    February 18, 2013 at 7:08 pm

    • Cheers Evelyn, Nice to see some comments from the people who check in regularly! The scramble up the hill to get this shot was worth it for the different perspective!

      February 18, 2013 at 11:13 pm

  2. I just had a look on Google and see what you mean about the ‘usual’ shots – it’s great to see a different perspective.
    Your first paragraph made me smile …… there may be some better images out there, but there are also a helluva lot that are a helluva lot worse! ….. and it never ceases to amaze me what people will follow 🙂

    February 18, 2013 at 9:37 pm

  3. I’ll take that as a compliment Noeline! But feel free to let me know if you don’t like it too. Cheers!

    February 18, 2013 at 11:16 pm

    • A bit late in responding – but compliment intended 🙂

      March 3, 2013 at 1:27 am

  4. Hi Tim. Great angle mate. I love the different layers and depth within the photo. Keep up the good work mate. I’m thinking about heading down there in July.

    Jamie

    February 19, 2013 at 9:32 am

  5. Thanks Jamie, hopefully you will get some snow to make it interesting!

    February 19, 2013 at 10:55 pm

Leave a Reply

