Images of a Big Island

My, how times have changed!

I was on my way to Townsville yesterday when i thought I would dive down a side road to perhaps get an image of the clouds hanging around the ranges to the south of Townsville.
I found a sugarcane property with a great collection of old farming implements at the entrance to his driveway. Some of these implements were probably horse drawn so I thought a couple of shots were in order! Light was not the best but you cant always choose ideal conditions can you? These will be worth a stop in future whenever I have time as i have been looking for these type of things for a while and they are not laying all over the place!


Driving home later that afternoon I saw a helicopter flying low circles over the cane paddocks so I thought I would investigate further. I pulled up near a couple of trucks and got talking to the owner of the farm as it turned out. He told me that because of all the rain it was impossible to get trucks into the fields to spread fertiliser. Consequently they were using a helicopter to do it for the first time and to his knowledge it was the first time it had been used on sugar cane in N. Queensland.
Once again the light was not ideal but with a bit of processing in Lightroom 3 they didn’t come out too badly. Even though I was shooting at shutter speeds as low as 1/60th sec and the downdraft from the rotors was pretty strong, most of them were pretty sharp. Something to remember for next time though!


In one day,totally by chance I had images of two widely separated eras of the sugar-cane industry which more than made up for the very long day I had endured. Hope you agree!

8 responses

  1. Great story and shots mate!

    January 16, 2011 at 10:34 am

    • Cheers Mark, just opened your email with about ‘Forest Pool”. Thanks for that but I honestly can’t see that much of a difference. As always your input is appreciated though.

      January 16, 2011 at 1:39 pm

  2. I just love chopper shots like the last one. MF has some great video from the True North like that.

    Fast forward 100 years. How big will the tractors be then????

    January 16, 2011 at 10:41 pm

    • Could have shot some great footage of this if I was that way inclined!
      In 100 yrs they will probably be operated remotely!

      January 16, 2011 at 11:30 pm

  3. Tony Middleton

    Interesting story Tim – I like the final image the best đŸ™‚

    January 17, 2011 at 8:31 pm

    • It was kind of cool the way the day panned out, in spite of all the driving and doctors appointments I had to endure! Cheers Tony!

      January 17, 2011 at 10:34 pm

  4. Hey Tim, i like the contrast of the old and the new, both against the same backdrop of the sugar cane fields.

    January 25, 2011 at 11:24 am

    • That is what caught my eye as well Adam, like to get early morning light on those old implements sometime!

      January 25, 2011 at 5:21 pm

Leave a Reply

