Images of a Big Island

Aside

In Praise of Mangroves.

As mentioned in my last post, I didn’t have too many opportunites to pull out the camera gear while I was on Orpheus Is.

But there was a corner of the bay that I visited whenever I could. The mangrove plants there had an amazing root structure that I have seen nowhere else in my travels.

Mangroves are an amazing plant that rely on salt water for their very existence. Once established, they send roots down to ground level unlike most plants and these root systems can spread for many metres from the parent tree. It was the root systems on theses fledgling mangrove trees that attracted my attention

Image

These root systems will support the plant through anything nature can throw at it as well as shelter all sorts of marine creatures during their juvenile years. They also shelter the coast line from severe wave action during cyclones.

Yet most people consider these very important plants as worthless mosquito-ridden swamps that are best removed for reclaiming land for canal estates etc!

No mangroves = no seafood + severe coastal erosion.

Pretty simple equation really isn’t it!

6 responses

  1. True North Mark

    These look like shots from the ‘Day of the Trifids’ movie mate!

    I too am often drawn to these amazing plants that survive is these harsh conditions!

    March 25, 2012 at 10:11 pm

    • Ha ha, funnily enough, I was going to title the post something along those lines but I thought it was a bit cheesy!

      March 25, 2012 at 10:49 pm

  2. Great shots, and good choice of black and white.

    March 26, 2012 at 1:01 am

    • Thanks Mike, B & W seemed the best choice as it is about the shapes of the plants.

      March 27, 2012 at 10:13 am

  3. Hi Tim,

    Really awesome images mate, I love your composition particularly image 1 and 3 and the use of black and white. These are probably close to my most favourite shots of yours.

    Thanks,

    Jamie

    March 27, 2012 at 12:32 pm

    • High praise indeed Jamie! Good images were a little hard to come by so I’m glad you like them. Cheers!

      March 28, 2012 at 3:19 am

Leave a Reply

