Images of a Big Island

Uluru (Tassie style)

Does anybody out there have a favourite place such as a river,valley or landmark that you never tire of looking at? Well this mountain is one such place for me.
Mt. Roland is a mountain that always affects me whenever I look at it. I have never been to the top of it, (yet) I have circumnavigated it many times and it draws me like a magnet whenever I am in it’s vicinity.
It is deeply entwined in my family history, my great-grandfather carved a farm out of the Tasmanian bush in it’s shadow, my mother’s ashes are part of it, as will my father’s one day and possibly mine as well!
I don’t know of any mountain that dominates its surroundings like this one except for perhaps Uluru and from certain angles it even has a similar profile.
I still havn’t found the perfect location to shoot this mountain from and that can change with the time of the year. I think it is in the middle of one of the local farms, may have to do a dawn raid one day……
Changes

3 responses

  1. Tony Middleton

    Top images Tim. I remember Mt Roland from my trip to Tassie about 5yrs ago, It certainly does seem like a magical so I can see why you are drawn towards it. It’s way too early in the morning for deep thoughts about my ‘special’ place ! 😉

    cheers,

    September 24, 2009 at 5:54 am

  2. Jeez mate, what are you doing up at this hour? Hope you have a cup of coffee in hand!

    September 25, 2009 at 9:28 am

  3. Tony Middleton

    Getting light here not long after 5am already- bring on daylight savings time ! 🙂 I often check the weather before work (work outdoors/trade) so early starts etc 🙂

    September 25, 2009 at 10:09 am

Leave a Reply

