Images of a Big Island

Decisions,decisions……….

G’day gang,
I’m hoping someone can help me out here, I am trialing a couple of Photoshop plugins at the moment, Genuine Fractals & Alien Skin Blowup.
Both these plugins are for resizing files and apparently do a better job than Photoshop itself. So far it is hard to tell them apart, Genuine Fractals looks slightly sharper but is slightly more noisy than Alien Skin. Both seem to do an outstanding job so it may come down to price and ease of use.
Has anybody out there used either of these plug-ins and what were your impressions?
While you are mulling that over, here is an image taken during my recent trip to Tasmania. There is an image of a European castle in Peter Eastway and David Oliver’s excellent book ‘Away’.
I thought i would see if I could do something similar to this image, unfortunately I failed miserably but I will give it another crack at a later date.
For all that I don’t mind the result that I ended up with!

5 image stitch, Lr2 & PSE7, dash of red wine!

4 responses

  1. truenorthmark

    Hi Tim,

    I use Genuine Fractals and I know that many of the pros do as well such as Christian, so I am guessing they have done the research.

    In fact now that I think about it Les Walkling speaks highly of Genuine Fractals as well!

    May 29, 2010 at 2:22 pm

  2. There is not much between them that I can see but that is a pretty good endorsement!

    Thanks Mark

    May 30, 2010 at 2:55 pm

  3. Tony Middleton

    I haven’t had experience with either Tim, but have hear GF is the go… Let us know your decision and experience with it.
    cheers,

    June 6, 2010 at 10:06 pm

  4. Certainly will Tony!

    June 7, 2010 at 2:27 pm

Leave a Reply

