Images of a Big Island

Space Travellers

Ever have those days where you feel like you are going in ever decreasing circles? Well here is photographic proof that you are not alone!

I have been wanting to try one of these images for ages, so tonight I decided to have a crack at it. I am reasonably happy with my first result but I learnt a couple of things along the way.

1-: You need a dark night with no moon to really make the stars stand out.

2-: make sure the batteries in your flash are fresh! (I did make an exposure of these trees with flash but I only got one flash in before my “new”batteries died. I like this one better anyway!)

3-: Try to be away from roads if possible. Car headlights can play havoc with your images!

4-: You really need a couple of hours at least to get a good range of arcs with the stars. Therfore you will have around 70 or images to process,stack and blend!

5-: Point 4 will really stretch your RAM, CPU and storage if you do this at full resolution!

I have always liked the idea that we really are space travellers without leaving this 3rd rock from the sun and this image kind of illustrates that idea for me!  Stay tuned for some more  images on this theme next  time we see the dark side of the moon.

2 responses

  1. Good effort mate…well done!

    January 19, 2012 at 10:46 pm

Leave a Reply

