Images of a Big Island

Wild Light II

If you have had a look through my blog you may have noticed that I have a fondness for mountains with clouds around them. When I notice stormy clouds settling around high ground I start looking for some sort of interesting foreground and hopefully some sunlight filtering through the advancing (or retreating) clouds, not always as easy as it sounds!

While driving around the Western Creek area in Tasmania I noticed clouds advancing across the Great Western Tiers, so after heading down a couple of side roads with no success I finally found this scene. It was just a matter of waiting for sunlight to hopefully illuminate the foreground to contrast with the threatening cloud over the mountains.

Highland Storm

 

6 responses

  1. Reblogged this on EvAntArt's Blog and commented:
    This guy takes some lovely photos of Tasmania…. would love to do a watercolour of this but it is his artwork.

    March 5, 2013 at 4:39 pm

    • Thankyou Evelyn,very kind of you! Would be interested to see what you could with this in a watercolour. Let me know !

      March 5, 2013 at 4:52 pm

  2. I saw a programme the other night about an endurance event in Tasmania. It’s the first time I’ve really seen much of the place – and what an incredibly diverse and beautiful place it is!

    March 5, 2013 at 7:34 pm

    • It certainly is Noeline, sort of a cross between England & New Zealand I guess is the best way to put it. Cheers!

      March 5, 2013 at 11:25 pm

  3. Amazing sky!!! Amazing capture of the clouds, I love it!

    March 6, 2013 at 10:18 am

Leave a Reply

